<BACK  

plattenbau revisited

Martin Schmitt, jury chairman of ‘20 Hours’ – a competition by HOWOGE with the Department of Architectural Presentation and Design, under the direction of Professor Barlieb at TU Berlin.
DSCF6137-Kopie
The redesigning the often dilapidated façade of a plattenbau is one of the most exciting design tasks of the present, and this is currently changing in a highly interesting way. Instead of only redecorating the façades externally with painting or cladding as previously, buildings are now handled much more innovatively. The remarkable renovation of the Tour Bois le Prêtre of Lacaton-Vassal in Paris has paved the way for a reconsideration of the plattenbau.
The range of possibilities for this design task was more than clear in the student competition ‘20 hours’ by HOWOGE. In the winning designs, a movement for the in-depth design of the façade is apparent. The designs work with the existing system – the repetitive grid structure. However, they generate a relief through their variation, which reveals new potential, is not monotonous, and at the same time improves the quality of the interior.
The architecture students of the Technical University of Berlin were assigned the task – from Berlin’s largest housing association, HOWOGE – to design a new façade for a plattenbau within 20 hours. The 22-storey, type GT 18 residential tower (Type Berlin) dates from 1969–71 and is on Rhinstraße 2/4 in Berlin-Lichtenberg.

The project was lead by Prof. Christoph Barlieb and Caroline Högsbro.

If you want to learn more, please klick here

<BACK

<ZURÜCK  

plattenbau revisited

Martin Schmitt, Jury-Vorsitzender von „20 Hours“ – Wettbewerb der Howoge mit dem Fachgebiet Barlieb der TU Berlin.
DSCF6137-Kopie
Die Neufassung der oft maroden Fassaden von Plattenbauten ist eine der spannendsten Gestaltungsaufgaben der Gegenwart. Der Umgang damit ändert sich gerade auf höchst interessante Weise. Statt die Fassaden wie bisher nur äußerlich mit Malerei oder Verkleidung umzudekorieren, geht man jetzt viel innovativer mit den Bauten um. Der bemerkenswerte Umbau des Tour Bois le Prêtre von Lacaton-Vassal in Paris hat den Weg geebnet, den Plattenbau neu zu denken.
Wie weit die Möglichkeiten dieser Gestaltungsaufgabe reichen, wurde beim Studentenwettbewerb „20 Hours“ der Howoge mehr als deutlich. In den Siegerentwürfen zeigt sich eine Bewegung zur Gestaltung der Fassade in der Tiefe. Sie arbeiten mit dem vorhandenen System – mit der repetitiven Rasterstruktur. Jedoch erzeugen sie durch deren Variation ein Relief, das neue Potentiale aufdeckt, nicht monoton ist und zugleich die Qualität des Innenraums verbessert.
Die Architekturstudenten der TU Berlin hatten von Berlins größter Wohnungsbaugesellschaft, der Howoge, die Aufgabe erhalten, innerhalb von zwanzig Stunden eine neue Fassade für einen Plattenbau zu entwerfen. Das 22-stöckige Wohnhochhaus vom Typ GT 18 (Typ Berlin) stammt aus den Jahren 1969-71 und steht in der Rhinstraße 2/4 in Berlin-Lichtenberg.

Die Siegerentwürfe finden Sie hier

 

<ZURÜCK