<BACK  

Kantine École Voltaire

The Kantine École Voltaire was the Iconic Awards Winner 2015 in the category Architecture, received a Special Mention of the German Design Award 2016 and won the Audience Price of the Berlin Architekturpreis 2016.
A vibrant, exciting cubature, the inclusion in a park-like context, and the creation of a pleasant atmosphere for children and teachers – these were the parameters for our new cafeteria building for the École Voltaire in Berlin-Tiergarten.
08_KEV_MartinSchmitt
The design idea is based on four juxtaposed sub-structures. Thus a differentiated building emerges on the narrow, elongated plot, which is reminiscent of an architectural landscape. 02_KEV_MartinSchmittThe entrance is off Kurfürstenstraße and faces the older school building beyond the courtyard. The ground floor is primarily occupied by the large student cafeteria, which can also be used for events. The dining area for teachers is housed in the towering central section on a gallery level – close and far away enough at the same time from the student area. Big and small, rectangular and ribbon-like windows open the views throughout onto the green surroundings.07_KEV_MartinSchmitt
2014Aug21_0068_sm
The liberal spirit of the school’s namesake – who, by the way, was rather critical of public educational institutions – was transported to the design of the walls by the artist Ute Mang.2014Aug21_0018_sm2014Aug21_0028_smThe cafeteria is built as a timber frame construction, which is perfectly suited for small-scale and complex space programmes like this: it is efficient, flexible, and environmentally-friendly – all of which enables a high-quality and aesthetic execution. At the beginning, it was a bid with particular conditions: for cost reasons, the client – the cafeteria is for a French school in Germany, belonging to the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE) – only invited tenders from system builders. But what they wanted was much too demanding, complex, and individual to be implemented solely with prefabricated room modules – for example, with containers.
01_KEV_MartinSchmittThe space programme of a school cafeteria is varied: an entrance hall is needed with a cloakroom, a separate sanitary section where students can wash their hands before eating, a large dining room for the students, a separate dining area for the teachers, as well as a kitchen. Thus we were able to convince the client of the merits of the timber framework. It makes differentiation and architectural design possible and is at the same time cost-effective. Nevertheless, a more intensive preparation for the construction is necessary. 06_KEV_MartinSchmittDesign and details must be planned carefully for timber frames, however, the implementation on-site is quick: the shell was erected within three weeks. After the erection of the frame construction and insulation, we clad the façade with heat-treated poplar wood, an equally aesthetic and extremely long-lasting solution. As a result, the construction appears warm, inviting, light, and playful.

Location Berlin
Year 2012-14
Client AEFE / École Voltaire Berlin
Service phases
1-8
Photographer Axel Hartmann, Silke Mayer
General contractor
Kastor HolzBauWerk GmbH
Team Timo Mecking, Matthias Povel, Moritz Klimburg, Jeong-Hoon Kim

 

 

 

<BACK

<ZURÜCK  

Kantine École Voltaire

Die Kantine École Voltaire ist Iconic Awards Winner 2015 in der Kategorie Architecture.
Eine lebendige, spannungsreiche Kubatur, die Einbindung in einen parkähnlichen Kontext und die Schaffung einer angenehmen Atmosphäre für Kinder und Lehrer – das waren die Parameter unseres neuen Kantinengebäudes für die Ecole Voltaire in Berlin-Tiergarten.
08_KEV_MartinSchmitt
Die Entwurfsidee geht von vier Teilbauten aus, die gleichsam zusammengeschoben wurden. So entwickelt sich auf dem schmalen langgestreckten Bauplatz ein differenziertes Gebäude, das an eine architektonische Landschaft erinnert.02_KEV_MartinSchmittDer Eingang ist von der Kurfürstenstraße ab- und dem Altbau der Schule jenseits des Hofs zugewandt. Das Erdgeschoss wird hauptsächlich von dem großen Schülerspeisesaal eingenommen, der zusätzlich für Veranstaltungen genutzt werden kann. Im hochragenden Mittelteil ist auf einer Galerieebene der Lehrerspeiseraum untergebracht – nah und entfernt genug zugleich vom Schülerbereich. Große und kleine, rechteckige und bandartige Fenster eröffnen überall den Ausblick ins Grüne.07_KEV_MartinSchmitt
2014Aug21_0068_sm
Der freiheitliche Geist des Namensgebers der Schule (der den öffentlichen Erziehungsanstalten übrigens eher kritisch gegenüber stand) wurde in der  Ausgestaltung der Wände von der Künstlerin Ute Mang transportiert.2014Aug21_0018_sm2014Aug21_0028_smDie Kantine ist als Holzrahmenbau errichtet. Der Holzrahmenbau ist gerade für kleinteilige und komplexe Raumprogramme wie dieses hervorragend geeignet: Er ist effizient, flexibel und ökologisch – und ermöglicht bei alldem eine hochwertige und ästhetische Ausführung. Am Beginn stand dabei eine Ausschreibung mit besonderen Bedingungen: Der Auftraggeber – letzten Endes ist dies bei einer französischen Schule in Deutschland die zum Pariser Außenministerium gehörige Auslandsschulbehörde AEFE –  schrieb aus Kostengründen ausschließlich an Systembauer aus. Aber das, was man wollte, war viel zu anspruchsvoll, komplex und individuell, um es allein mit vorgefertigten Raummodulen – das heißt beispielsweise mit Containern – umsetzen zu können.
01_KEV_MartinSchmittDas Raumprogramm einer Schulkantine ist vielfältig: Man braucht einen Eingangsbereich mit Garderobe, einen abgetrennten Sanitärtrakt, wo sich die Schüler vor dem Essen die Hände waschen können, einen großen Speisesaal für die Schüler, einen davon getrennten Essbereich für die Lehrer sowie eine Küche. Wir überzeugten die Auftraggeber deshalb von den Vorzügen des Holzrahmenbaus. Er macht Differenzierung und architektonische Gestaltung möglich und ist zugleich kostengünstig. Allerdings ist eine intensivere Vorbereitung des Baus nötig. 06_KEV_MartinSchmittEntwurf und Details sind beim Holzrahmenbau sorgfältig zu planen, die Ausführung vor Ort hingegen ist schnell: Der Rohbau war innerhalb von nur drei Wochen gestellt. Nach der Errichtung des Rahmenbaus und der Dämmung haben wir die Fassade abschließend mit hitzebehandeltem Pappelholz verkleidet, eine gleichermaßen ästhetische und extrem langlebige Lösung. Im Ergebnis präsentiert sich der Bau warm, einladend, leicht und spielerisch.

Ort Berlin
Jahr 2012-14
Auftraggeber AEFE / École Voltaire Berlin
Leistungsphasen 1-8
Fotos Axel Hartmann, Silke Mayer
Generalunternehmen Kastor HolzBauWerk GmbH
Team Timo Mecking, Matthias Povel, Moritz Klimburg, Jeong-Hoon Kim

 

 

 

<ZURÜCK